The SEED Center

Message from Leadership

Dear Colleagues,

I am excited to assume leadership of the American Association of Community Colleges’ Presidents Sustainability Task Force. I will build upon a strong foundation laid by outgoing chair Jerry Weber, president of the College of Lake County, Illinois, who has worked with the AACC SEED team to build this dynamic task force and initiative to the outstanding national program that it is today.

Other presidents joining me to lead the Sustainability Task Force on the executive committee are vice-chair Patricia Hsieh, San Diego Community College at Miramar, California; Jean Goodnow, Delta College, Michigan; and Jennifer Wimbish, Cedar Valley College, Texas.

Today SEED boasts membership of 463 colleges, nearly 40% of all community colleges. Strong leadership from college presidents has helped bolster SEED’s importance nationally and create meaningful impact at our colleges. Exciting offerings from SEED in the near future include the Green Genome Awards and college self-assessment tool offering colleges meaningful recognition and opportunities to hone their sustainability and clean economy programs.

We will continue to share insights and best practices to help colleges advance these efforts nationwide. Your thoughts are welcome; please let us know how we can continue to serve your college’s needs. I look forward to working with you all.

Bryan Albrecht
Former Chair, AACC Sustainability Task Force
President, Gateway Technical College